As of January 1, 2021, numerous new employment laws will go into effect in California. We broke down important updates that employers should be aware of heading into the new year.
We sat down with our Manager of Account Management and HR Delivery, Lindsey Aherne, as she discusses new changes to employment laws that are happening in 2021 for employers to look out for:
- California Sexual Harassment Training – A state mandate which was rolled out in the Fall of 2020 makes it mandatory for all employees working in the State of California to complete sexual harassment training. The training needs to be completed within 100 hours of the assignment or 30 days. Other states which have also adopted a state harassment training law includes Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maine and New York.
- Minimum Wage – While the Federal minimum wage remains at $7.25/hour, 25 states are raising their minimum wage in 2021. Those states include Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia and Washington. https://www.laborlawcenter.com/state-minimum-wage-rates/
Employers should be aware of these new laws and adjust accordingly such as updating handbooks and policies. Follow us through the year as we will update you on additional new laws that will take effect this year. Legislation is always changing and now with a COVID-era, it is likely more laws could come into effect as we continue on in 2021.
Lindsey Aherne, Manager, Account Management and HR Delivery
Lindsey specializes in developing Human Resource developments while streamlining the hiring process with industry-leading best practices. She has worked at Amerit Consulting for the past 3 years building lasting relationships with organizations in order to provide comprehensive HR solutions to fuel hiring success. Connect with her at Lindsey.Aherne@Ameritconsulting.com or on LinkedIn